Lately I’ve been focusing on trying to lead a healthier (and greener) life. I’ve been taking my dog for longer walks, doing yoga most days and trying to run, jump rope, or some other physical activity daily.

I’ve also tried to cut the junk food out of my diet. I’m choosing foods that are all natural and organic when possible. I’ve also been trying to eat more fruits, vegetables and whole grains and less high fructose corn syrup, artificial ingredients and preservatives. I’ve started eating brown rice instead of white rice, whole wheat bread instead of white bread, Multigrain Cheerios instead of regular or Honey Nut Cheerios and baby spinach instead of iceberg lettuce. The changes have been easy to make (although I have to admit, I like white bread a lot!)

Some more foods I’ve found I like are:


Kashi Organic Promise Cinnamon Harvest
It tastes awesome and one serving really fills me up. It’s great to snack on instead of chips or cookies, plus it only has 4 ingredients: Organic Whole Wheat, Organic Evaporated Cane Juice, Organic Cinnamon and Natural Cinnamon Flavor. Yum. Oh, and if you didn’t know, paperboard like cereal boxes can be recycled!!

Organic Apple Sauce.
I used to buy the little cups of Mott’s Apple Sauce because they are convenient and I found I was more likely to eat it in a single serving cup rather than out of the jar. I wanted to eat organic apple sauce and I didn’t like throwing away all of the plastic cups so I went to Target on a mission to find some reusable cups. What I found to be the cheapest (and met my requirement of not being made of type 3, 6 or 7 plastic) were Gladware Mini Round Containers with interlocking lids. They are about the size of the single serving apple sauce cups and the can be reused, plus the jar can be recycled :) So I’ve been buying a jar of organic apple sauce, filling up the cups and enjoying producing less waste.


Lifeway LowFat Raspberry Kefir

I usually only drink a little bit at a time, about half a cup, but I like it better than yogurt.

Kefir contains probiotics. “Probiotics which literally mean “beneficial to life,” are live cultures that provide health benefits beyond basic nutrition. Most probiotics include the live active cultures often added to foods like yogurt. Researchers have studied bacteria extensively and considerable evidence indicates that there are several strains of essential good-for-you bacteria that have an ability to promote healthy gastrointestinal functions, increase immunity and help prevent the development of cancer-causing toxins throughout the body. Lifeway Foods has seven live and active cultures to produce a wide array of health benefits.”

Research has indicated that the bacteria in kefir help:
* Traveler’s diarrhea, viral diarrhea in children and irritable bowel syndrome
* Prevent vaginal yeast infections
* Boost the immune system
* Reduce the risk of heart disease by reducing cholesterol
* Reduce the symptoms of food allergies such as lactose intolerance
* Suppress the development of certain cancers, such as bladder or colon cancer


SunChips
The bag says they are All Natural and I like that their plant in California runs on solar energy and that they buy green energy credits to match 100% of the electricity required to make each bag of SunChips.

Some of these still might not be the best things in the world that I could be eating, but they’re better than Coke, Dorritos and Oreos!

