Mark Beemer and the Shirts for a Cure project were just featured in the May 2008 issue of Alternative Press. Click here to check it out. The Syrentha Savio Endowment (SSE) was started by band photographer Mark Beemer after he lost his wife Syrentha to breast cancer. SSE provides financial assistance to underprivileged women who cannot afford expensive breast cancer medicine and therapy. The Shirts For A Cure Project (SFAC) was launched by SSE to give voice to the social concerns of punk bands and their many fans as well as to raise awareness about breast cancer prevention.

I’ve supported both of these charities since I heard of SSE at the reunion shows Kid Dynamite played in Philadelphia in 2003 to benefit SSE.

Instead of having favors at our wedding reception we donated money in our guests’ name to SSE.

SSE wedding donations

At the Kid Dynamite show I bought the blue version of this shirt:

kid dynamite liberty bell sse shirt

I also have this Hot Water Music shirt (which I happen to be wearing today)

hot water music shirts for a cure shirt

And Jeff has this Rise Against shirt:
Rise Against shirts for a cure

I think the next one I’m going to get is this The Loved Ones shirt… or you can get it for me, I wear a small :)
The Loved Ones Shirts for a Cure shirt

Shirts for a Cure is a great charity! Support it!

