I always recycle, I can’t stand to see bottles, cans, paper, etc thrown away, but instead of reusing water bottles and then recycling them, I’ve decided I’m going to get this SIGG I AM NOT A PLASTIC 1.0L (33 OZ) reusable water bottle.

SIGG I AM NOT A PLASTIC water bottle

StopGlobalWarming.org is proud to partner with SIGG to create a re-usable water bottle so we can all do our part and ditch the plastic!

Some info from the SIGG website:
• SIGG bottles exceed FDA requirements and have been thoroughly tested to ensure 0.0% leaching – so they are 100% safe.

• SIGG bottles are manufactured in an ecologically-friendly environment and are 100% recyclable after their very long lives. In fact, most SIGGs in Europe are still being used 10-20 years after purchase.

• SIGG Switzerland utilizes only foodgrade, 100% safe paint in the manufacturing of our water bottles.

• SIGG bottles absolutely do not contain any of the following harmful ingredients: antimony, arsenic, soluble barium, lead, cadmium, mercury and selenium. The paints used to decorate SIGG products are completely safe and in compliance with ASTM F963-2007.

• Most disposable water bottles (e.g. – Evian, Dasani, Aquafina, etc.) are made of PET plastic. According to the American Recycling Institute, only 14% of these bottles are recycled. Most of the PET bottles end up in litter or trash where they can take up to 1,000 years to biodegrade, filling our landfills and injuring wildlife.

• Americans are currently adding 30 million PET water bottles to our nation’s landfills – everyday

• Even if PET bottles are sent to the recycling center, they are really being “down-cycled”, converted to a lower form of plastic, much of which goes unused.

• PET is a petroleum-based plastic. Manufacturing and transporting bottled water (especially from distant countries such as France and Fiji) unnecessarily burns fossil fuels – approximately 1.5 million barrels per year according to the NRDC.

Only 14% are recycled?! That’s terrible. I’m disappointed in you America :(

Little changes can make a big difference. Start today!

Update: I got to see the rest of my family for mother’s day and my brother gave me my birthday present…
Whispering Meadows 0.6 Liter Sigg Water Bottle
this beautiful Whispering Meadows 0.6 Liter Sigg Water Bottle! It’s so cute. It has an illustration of a field with ladybugs. I used it all day today. Thanks Mike!

I think I’m still going to get the other one for Jeff. Saving the word, one water bottle at a time ;)

 

